All News

Who We Are

Statewide Mutual is a discretionary mutual providing cover for its Member Councils’ major insurable risks. We are a ‘self-insurance mutual’ which is backed by reinsurance placed through local and international underwriters. Members own each Scheme and benefit from building equity resulting from surplus contributions.

A list of current Member Councils can be seen below.

Our mission statement, set in early 1994, is as applicable today as ever; Applying innovative practices in the management of Local Government insurance which ensure the protection of Members through stable premiums, cost containment and spread of risk.

Also set at the mutual’s inception were a formal set of goals. These are to:

  • set and review risk management benchmarks by establishing Standards of Care in managing exposure to liability claims and assisting members in meeting those standards;
  • manage claims in accordance with accredited Quality Procedures and, in consultation with members, to ensure their prompt determination and optimum resolution;
  • ensure financial viability by maintaining an appropriate solvency margin, maximizing use of surplus funds and periodic actuarial assessment of current and potential liabilities;
  • maintain and review levels of self-insured retention, insurance coverage and stop loss insurance to optimize protection of members;
  • reduce members’ costs by spreading the risk of exposure to claims and higher premium levels across an expanding and diverse membership;
  • achieve recognition by members, governments, local government, insurance and risk management industries as a leading representative body and lobbyist in risk management and insurance matters pertaining to local government; and
  • identify opportunities and expand into additional areas of insurance to meet the needs of members and maximize returns.

Member Councils (as at 1 October 2014)

Metropolitain Hunter and Central Coast Mitchell
Ashfield Council Council
Bankstown City Council
Campbelltown City Council
City of Canada Bay Council
Cantebury City Council
Hawkesbury River County Council
Hornsby Council
Hurstville City Council
Kogarah Council
Ku-Ring-Gai Council
Leichhardt Council
Manly Council
Mosman Council
North Sydney Council
Pittwater Council
Randwick City Council
Ryde City Council
Strathfield Council
Sutherland Council
Warringah Council
Willoughby Council
Woollondilly Council
Woollahra Council
Cessnock City Council
Dungog Council
Gloucester Council
Gosford City Council
Lake Macquarie Council
Maitland Council
Muswellbrook Council
Newcastle Council
Port Stephens Council
Singleton Council
Upper Hunter County Council
Upper Hunter Shire Council
Wyong Council
Bathurst Council
Blayney Council
Cabonne Council
Central Tablelands Council
Cowra Council
City of Lithgow City Council
Mid Western Region Council
Oberon Council
Orange City Council
Upper Macquarrie County Council
Southern Tablelands Riverena South Coast
Bombala Council
Boorowa Council
Cooma-Monaro Council
Golburn Mulwaree Council
Harden Council
Palerang Council
Queanbeyan Council
Snowy River Council
Southern Slopes Council
Upper Lachlan Council
Wingecarribee Council
Yass Valley Council
Young Council
Albury Council
Balranald Council
Berrigan Council
Bland Council
Carrathool Council
Central Murray Council
Conorgo Council
Coolamon Council
Cootamundra Council
Corowa Council
Deniliquin Council
Goldenfields (Water) County Council
Greater Hume Council
Griffith Council
Gundagai Council
Hay Council
Jerilderie Council
Junee Council
Leeton Council
Lockhart Council
Murray Council
Murrumbidgee Council
Narrandera Council
Riverina (Water) Country Council
Temora Council
Tumbarumba Council
Tumut Council
Urana Council
Wagga Wagga Council
Wakool Council
Wentworth Council
Bega Valley Council
Eurobodalla Council
Shoalhaven City Council
Orana North West Northern Rivers
Bogan Council
Bourke Council
Brewarrina Council
Broken Hill City Council
Castlereagh-Macquarie County Council
Central Darling Council
Cobar Council
Cobar Water Board Council
Coonamby Council
Dubbo City Council
Forbes Council
Gilgandra Council
Lachland Council
Narromine Council
Parkes Council
Walgett Council
Warren Council
Warrumbungle Council
Weddin Council
Wellington Council
Armidale-Dumaresq Council
Glen Innes Severin Council
Guyra Council
Gunnedah Council
Gwydir Council
Inverell Council
Liverpool Plains Council
Moree Plains Council
Narrabri Council
New England Tablelands Council
Tamworth Regional Council
Tenterfield Council
Uralla Council
Walcha Council
Ballina Council
Byron Council
Clarence Valley Council
Far North Coast Council
Kyogle Council
Lismore Council
Richmond River County Council
Richmond Valley County Council
Rous County Council
Tweed Council